Posted by: John McGerr | April 11, 2010

Changes


This is my twenty fifth year with my current employer, more than half my life built round the routines of shiftwork and overtime. One of my shifts started at 5am, another at one pm, for a number of years I had a third shift starting at 9pm – none of them were pleasant, timewise, even if, in the summer months,  it was nice to leave work at one o clock in the day, or not have to start until nine at night. For most of those years I worked in the quality department. You always had to walk a fine line between good quality and the demands of quantity that the salesmen required to meet their targets. Then I got promoted to a supervisor, a job with it’s own challenges but in many ways you were walking the same fine line with the added stress of keeping everything ticking over, whether it be people or machinery. I have done that job for almost eleven years and I am now changing again. This will be a completely new type of challenge for me and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a bit apprehensive about it. It will involve software training of operators for the purpose of recording information required for traceability and legal requirements. It will be my first time away from the direct handling of production. So if I am apprehensive why did I take it? Because I want to try something new and there is that added attraction of day work. These past four years I have worked twelve hour shifts, there was great time off but long days, weekend work, nights. And I think it’s normal to feel some apprehension about a new job or role. The next few weeks will be interesting.

Categories

