Posted by: John McGerr | April 21, 2009

A sense of place6


In the late 1990’s I put up a couple of sites about different aspects of Edgeworthstown, eventually aiming to combine them into one site, a sort of Edgeworthstown portal. Amongst the things I tired were to start and Edgeworthstown wiki and to offer a live chatting feature. The first I dropped as it was too much work for one person, the second got no response. A more successful venture was the Edgeworthstown Forum with sections for different aspects of Parish life. It is still going but you could hardly call it vibrant. For some reason I cannot fathom it attracts a lot of intensely shy people, people who sign up to be members but then just vanish. At last count there were 127 members. Of those only 46(47 if you include me and I do most of the posting) post anything. And of those 46 posters, 33 have posted two messages or less. A couple of years ago it did flare to life with some controversy in the GAA section but that fizzled out. Not that I want controversy but it would be nice if those who signed up would at least introduce themselves. Despite the relative lack of success of these sites I have met some interesting people through them. By met, I mean, in some cases physically met the people with whom I’d been in touch, in others, they remain names at the bottom of emails. One of those people was a Professor Edmundo Murray from Geneva, Secretary of SILAS(Society for Irish Latin American Studies) who taught me something new about my Parish. From hime I learned that in the 19th Century that some 800 people from Edgeworthstown and nearby emigrated to and settled in Argentina. Some were deserters or prisoners from British ships who settled in the country then wrote back to their families in Ireland. Some Edgeworthstown family names that still survive in Argentina are Brady, MacCormack, Mahedy, Cox, Molloy, Fagan, Kearney, Leavy, Nally, and Sheridan. Professor Murray graciously contributed an article for our first book ‘O theach go teach’. I don’e any photos of these hardy emigrants but below are some images fromEdgeworthstown’s past.

Categories

