Posted by: John McGerr | February 9, 2009

Queenstown 2


Since our trip to Milford was now off we had a day to kill in Queenstown. We chose to take a trip on the TSS Earnslaw, a steam ship originally built in 1912. The trip was across the lake to Walter Peak farm. The trip gives you some nice views of Lake Wakatipu and the surrounding countryside. Walter Peak is a working farm, but it’s also a tourist attraction with sheep herding and shearing demonstrations, spinning demonstrations. There are various domestic animals as well as deer and it’s a popular spot for weddings and conferences.  It was the one spot on the whole trip my Dad would have really liked. Having seen photos of Milford since, I am sorry I did not get to go there, but I’m also glad I got to see the Farm. The scenery may not have been as spectacular but it had it’s attractions.

Categories

