Posted by: John McGerr | January 14, 2009

Cinematic Tastes


Among the movies I have watched in 2008 you would find the following

Strayed – French movie set in World War II

8 Women – France again, comedy/musical/ mystery

All three of the Pirates of the Caribbean movies

Iron Man & Incredible Hulk (what can I say – Marvel will always have a place in my life)

A raft of Humphrey Bogart movies – Caine Mutiny, Treasure of the Sierra Madre, Key Largo, To Have and Have Not, African Queen

John Wayne – She Wore a Yellow Ribbon, Rio Grande, Fort Apache, Stagecoach and The Quiet Man

District 13 – back to France for a movie featuring the sport of Parkour

Twelve Angry Men

Arsenic and Old Lace

Next – Nicholas Cage sci-fi

Enter the Dragon – 30th Anniversary Edition of this film – no-one quite like Bruce Lee

Paul Newman – The Sting, Cool Hand Luke and Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid

What’s to be learned from this? Not a whole lot, my taste in movies is pretty eclectic. I like French movies, especially those of Emmanuelle Beart. I’m a fan of John Wayne and Humphrey Bogart and I like old movies. I have learned not to expect too much from Blockbusters and so am often pleasantly surprised. As someone quite familiar with the whole world of computers one of my pet peeves is that their portrayal in movies are sometimes so unrealistic(There’s a humorous article here about this).  I am usually disappointed by movies made from books I like. Sometimes I have read books after seeing the movie and wondered what the team involved were thinking and above all what the author was thinking. So I was happy to see the job Peter Jackson did on the Lord of the Rings trilogy, even though one noteworthy change to a character’s behaviour still baffles me.  I like reading and watching stuff about the making of movies, about the trials and tribulations of making some of the movies.  I have a cousin who works in the movies in visual effects and animation, it would seem to be a dream job, but like all jobs I’m sure there  are times when it get’s tedious too.

For excellent scans of actors, actresses and movie stills visit this site – Doctor Macro’s Quality Scans

Categories

